Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms


Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms | Blue Eyed Soul Food SAUSAGE STUFFED MUSHROOMS | BLUE EYED SOUL FOOD



I HAVE A LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP WITH THESE MUSHROOMS. I HAVE TO MAKE THEM FOR EVERY GATHERING. WHETHER IT’S A BARBECUE, BIRTHDAY PARTY, BABY SHOWER, BRIDAL SHOWER, POTLUCK, THANKSGIVING, CHRISTMAS… THEY ARE THAT GOOD!!!

I HAVE BEEN ASKED FOR THE RECIPE A LOT, BUT IT’S NOT ONE OF THOSE DISHES THAT HAS EXACT MEASUREMENTS AND I ALWAYS WING IT WHEN I MAKE THEM. I USE THE SAME INGREDIENTS, BUT I AM ALWAYS TWEAKING IT. I REALLY NEED A TUTORIAL VIDEO OF HOW TO MAKE THEM, IT WOULD BE A LOT EASIER, BUT SINCE I AM CAMERA SHY, I WILL TRY MY BEST TO WRITE THE RECIPE.

HERE IS WHAT YOU NEED:

*2 – 24 OZ WHITE BUTTON MUSHROOMS TO START WITH – APPROX 40 MUSHROOMS – I USUALLY GET 2- 24 OZ CARTONS AND GRAB THE SIZES THAT I LIKE. LOOK FOR MEDIUM SIZED MUSHROOMS. YOU DON’T WANT THEM TOO BIG OR TOO SMALL. YOU  WANT 1-2 BITE SIZED MUSHROOMS

*1 POUND  REGULAR “BREAKFAST” PORK SAUSAGE – YOU COULD USE HOT IF YOU LIKE SPICY!
*1 SMALL SHALLOT, FINELY CHOPPED
*1-2 CLOVES OF GARLIC, GRATED
*1 CUP OF ITALIAN BREAD CRUMBS
*6 TBSP OF BUTTER
*3/4 CUP – 1 CUP SHREDDED PARMESAN

IT’S IMPORTANT THAT YOU USE SHREDDED AND NOT GRATED PARMESAN

I DON’T KNOW WHY I USED ALL CAPS ABOVE!? I WASN’T MAD OR TRYING TO GET MY POINT ACROSS 🙂

HOW TO:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees

Start by cleaning the button mushrooms by wiping them with a napkin or brush them clean. It’s important not to use water when cleaning the mushrooms or they will become soggy. Bleh!

Remove the stems. I cut off the very bottom of the stem, the yucky brown stuff, too. Chop up all of those stems. Use a food processor, it’s a lot easier. Set aside

Make sure to clean out any extra stem and gills that may be left in the cap. Use it all for the stuffing, but you want to make lots of room in the cap room for the mixture.

Layer the mushroom caps in the pan(s) that you intend to use. I find that 40 fit nicely in a cookie baking sheet. Make sure it has a lip though, you don’t want to lose mushrooms!

Now you’ll want to cook your sausage. Over medium-high heat start the browning process first, but not all the way then add in shallots, garlic and the chopped mushroom stems. Cook until the liquid cooks out of the mushrooms, the sausage is fully cooked and the mushrooms are softened. Lower heat to low

This is when I add butter. I use about 1/4 cup (4 TBSP) to start off with. Start adding in the bread crumbs. I usually start off with about 1/2 cup. Mix and add more butter and/or breadcrumbs until you get a moist, crumbly mixture. Cook a little bit just get the breadcrumbs well combined and buttery and the flavors meld.

Now you’ll want to start throwing in shredded parmesan. I start off with a good handful and mix it into the sausage mixture, it should get a little stringy. The consistency should be a little sticky & wet. Add more butter and/or bread crumbs if need be. Taste and adjust to your liking. I am always tweaking it at this point.

I use a small scoop or just a spoon will work to, but make sure you really pack the stuffing into each mushroom. I push every little morsel in with the back of the scoop or spoon and then make sure there’s some extra on top as well.  If I have any left over stuffing mix I throw it into the pan, around the mushrooms, it always gets eaten! 

Bake for about 10 minutes covered with foil, then uncover, top the mushrooms with a little more of the shredded parmesan, it gives it a crunchy texture, which I like. If you don’t have extra parmesan or don’t want the crunch, it’s tasty either way! Bake another 10-15 minutes until browned and bubbly. You could easily prepare this a day ahead. Keep covered & refrigerated until ready to bake. Take your pan out of the fridge while your oven is preheating. You may need to add 5 minutes to the cooking time while covered if you’re taking them out of the fridge before baking.

Let sit for a few then chow down. These mushrooms are perfect served warm.

One thought on “Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

