Pimento Cheese


I love me some pimento cheese! As a kid I only had it in a sandwich or with celery sticks. It was always cold, too. Now that I am older and wiser, I love me some pimento cheese, with a little kick to it, too… On a burger (my favorite!) In a grilled cheese (my second favorite!) In macaroni and of course with crackers, tortilla chips and celery… So many things to do with it now! The yummy options are endless.

pimento1

Here is the recipe that I use. It makes a lot. The more the merrier!

Ingredients:
1 pound fresh grated Cheddar
1/2 pound fresh grated Pepper Jack
1 (4-ounce) jar diced pimentos
I like to use the juice in the pimento jar, too. It just enhances the pimento flavor!
1/3 teaspoon granulated garlic
1/3 teaspoons granulated onion
About 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Pinch cayenne
About 1/2 tablespoon green pepper sauce or tobasco sauce
2/3 cup mayonnaise

All you have to do is mix everything together in a large bowl. Let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Use it any way you’d like! Cold… hot… I like it any way I can get it 😉
I personally would suggest trying it as a grilled cheese to try it hot and melty.

Leave a Reply

