Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies


Moist, chewy & a delicious blend of pumpkin pie spices and chocolate! Yum...
Moist, chewy & a delicious blend of pumpkin pie spices and chocolate! Yum…

I think cookies are my all time favorite “sweet treat”. I am definitely more of a savory food type of person. I don’t make a lot of desserts, but I do love to bake when the cooler weather hits. I love to bake all types of cookies, especially any kind of chocolate chip cookie. These cookies aren’t too sweet. These cookies are not cakey either. A lot of pumpkin type of cookies are. I like chewy & gooey. I love the combination of pumpkin with chocolate, too.

The cookie dough all on it’s own, I could devour by the spoon fulls… It doesn’t have eggs in it, so go for it ūüėČ

Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies | Blue Eyed Soul Food

Here’s what you need and what you need to do…
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter softened
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 Tbsp pumpkin puree
  • 1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whisk the softened butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together until smooth. Whisk in the vanilla and pumpkin until smooth. Set aside.

pumpkinwet1

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice.

pumpkindry21

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix together with a large spoon or rubber spatula. Fold in 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Cover the dough and chill for 30 minutes, or up to 3 days. Chilling is a must!

pumpkindough1

Take the dough out of the refrigerator. Preheat the oven to 350F degrees.

Roll the dough into balls, about 1 Tablespoons of dough each. I use a small scoop and yielded 30 cookies

cookiescoop1

Slightly flatten the dough balls because the cookies will only slightly spread in the oven.

(Please excuse my perfectly seasoned stoneware pan. As you can see it gets a lot of use!)

I would recommend lining any metal cookie sheets with parchment paper or a silicone liner.

cookieballs1

Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes. The cookies will look very soft. Keeping them in the oven for longer may dry them out.

Remove from the oven and press a few more chocolate chips onto the tops, if desired. It’s a must!

If you find that your cookies didn’t spread much at all, flatten them out when you take them out of the oven. I take the pan and slam it down a few times, but you could go the non-aggressive route and use a spatula to flatten them out, before adding more chocolate chips – then it just gets messy.

Allow the cookies to cool for at least 10 minutes on the cookie sheets before transferring to a wire rack. 

Let the cookies cool for an hour before devouring them, if you can!

pumpkincookie22

Cookies stay soft, moist, and chewy stored at room temperature for up to 1 week.

2 thoughts on “Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. It looks incredible. I love Pumpkin and those adventurous enough to use it! I wish more would.

    I came up with my own version of a Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cooks. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2013/11/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

Leave a Reply

